Skip navigation

So you need a new job or perhaps you’re in the hunt for that perfect internship, but you hate those mundane job fairs in the school gymnasium that always seem so awkward? I’m with you, I too have been to countless job fairs in the standard format and I’ve got so say I never really looked forward to them.

Out of this dilemma a new format for the standard job fair was born- Experience Harrisburg. Structured like a pub crawl, this annual career fair places 40 employers inside 9 different downtown locations all within walking distance of each other, then with the help of tour guides from the Harrisburg Young Professionals, participants are lead around the city to spend 15 minutes at each venue networking with employers, trying food, and just enjoying a night out. Not to mention we throw in free pizza and $1,000+ in prizes at the final location of the evening, Dragonfly Club.

This is the second year I’ve had the pleasure of planning the event, and I actually did the whole thing myself 3 years ago as a student, so I’m pretty familiar with the format and I’ve got to say I’m really excited about this year’s event. It’s taking place Thursday, October 23rd, from 5:30pm-9:30pm and kicks off at the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. We’ll also be placing employers inside the Susquehanna Art Museum, Stock’s on 2nd, the Quarter, Molly Brannigans, McGrath’s Pub, the Harrisburg Visitors Center, the International House, and Temple University Harrisburg. I’ve done about everything I could think of to make this event fun and productive for everyone involved, I hope you check it out.

Leave a Reply

