Skip navigation

En route to downtown Harrisburg in search of a few more venues for this year’s Experience Harrisburg Job and Internship Fair, I noticed during my casual drive that the shop next door to Garden Vietnamese Restaurant that used to be a soul food restaurant before going out of business had a bit of activity going on inside. Upon a closer look I also noticed that the front window had a different name on the glass complete with a Jamaican flag. Needless to say, I slammed on the breaks, pulled a 180, and beat out a police cruiser for the last space along the sidewalk in front of the store to try the place out. Well, not really, but I did stop in and check the place out after I finished talking to a few business owners downtown about hosting employers for the job fair.

I can’t say I know what Jameans With Papine actually means but after grabbing a menu (click on images below)  and a quick look around the shop I’ll make sure to ask the owner tomorrow when I return for lunch. It’s pretty nice inside, just a few tables, an electric jukebox and pool table downstairs with the kitchen upstairs. I can’t vouch for the food yet, but any new restaurant is worth trying twice in my opinion. I’m especially curious about this place as there is already a Jamaican Buffet just a few blocks down 3rd Street called Ventura House. Is this city big enough to have two Jamaican eateries in addition to a great Caribbean food stand in the Broad Street Market? I suppose time will tell, but personally I can’t wait to give Jameans With Papine a first taste.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

One Comment

  1. Tried this spot for lunch today and absolutely loved the food, review forthcoming.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] is most important to me is what’s really most important (that’s the food of course). You can see the menu in my previous post, but you can see that the place is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I tried the curry chicken […]

Leave a Reply

